2023 Travel Guide Cover
Start Planning Your Trip Today!
Read More

Molly Hatchet

October 20, 2023

Visit Website

Molly Hatchet firmly cemented its place in music history in the late seventies. They stood alongside other iconic Southern rock bands out of Jacksonville, Florida, such as Lynyrd Skynyrd and the Allman Brothers.  A perfect mixture of English invasion rock, blues, country, and gospel remains the unique sound of Molly Hatchet. 

They were the hardest hitting of the Southern rock bands at the time when, in 1978,Epic Records released Molly Hatchet’s self-titled debut album.  It reached multi-platinum status, and the band established their reputation of working hard, playing tough and living fast through intense touring. During this time, they were on the road with Aerosmith, Bob Seger, The Rolling Stones, and many others.

In1979, Molly Hatchet’s second album Flirtin’ with Disaster was released, and it also quickly achieved multi-platinum status.  It skyrocketed the band into the stratosphere and performing an average of two hundred and fifty shows per year kept them busy. 

Molly Hatchet next released Beatin’ the Odds (1980), followed by Take No Prisoners (1981), No Guts… No Glory (1983) The Deed Is Done (1984) and Double Trouble Live (1985).

In 1987, Bobby Ingram joined the band as lead guitarist and songwriter. They continued to play over two hundred dates a year. In 1989 they recorded Lightning Strikes Twice on Capitol Records. The Greatest Hits album was released in 1991 and certified gold. It was followed by

In 1996 Devil’s Canyon (the first studio album in six years) was recorded in Hamburg, Germany on SPV/CBH Records with producers Kalle Trapp and Bobby Ingram.  The album was voted the number one rock record in Europe in 1996 with rave reviews.

It was followed by Silent Reign of Heroes (CMC International, 1998), Kingdom of XII (Sanctuary, 2000), 25th Anniversary: Best of Re-Recorded (SPV Records, 2003), Warriors of the Rainbow Bridge (Steamhammer,2005), Locked and Loaded – Live (Steam hammer, 2006), Justice (Steam hammer, 2010), Greatest Hits II (SPV Records, 2011), and most recently Battleground - Live (Steam hammer, 2019).